BOMB 39th Anniversary Gala & Art Auction

Co-Chairs: Carol Greene, Marian Goodman, Rachel Lee Hovnanian, and Shaun Caley Regen
Honorary Chairs: Branden Jacobs-Jenkins, Daniel Kehlmann, Susan & Glenn Lowry, Ugo Rondinone, Nancy Spector, Elisabeth Sussman, and Netta Yerushalmy

Friday, October 2, 2020
6:30PM ET
Free and open to all online

The 39th Anniversary Gala & Art Auction will be available to stream until 10/9. 

Since 1981, BOMB Magazine has been delivering the voices of the most iconic artists of our time—visual, literary, and performing—by publishing conversations between those who make our culture. Every year, we host our Gala and Auction in New York, where we honor art luminaries and feature an auction of one-of-a-kind pieces.

This year, we invite you to our first virtual gala—open to the public and free. On October 2, 2020—we will present an incredible line-up of performances by BOMB contributors past and present.

Grab your seat for an evening that brings BOMB’s pages to life!


Rachel Harrison
Henry Taylor
Lawrence Weiner


Kathy Halbreich
Deana Lawson
Jessica Morgan

Appearances and
Performances by:

Eric Bogosian
Dynasty Handbag
Saidiya Hartman
Rowan Ricardo Phillips
Claudia Rankine
Deborah Eisenberg & 
Wallace Shawn
Jim Shepard
Rufus Wainwright

Special Guests:

Katherine Bernhardt
Linda Goode Bryant
Mónica de la Torre
Jonathan Lethem
Dindga McCannon
Lee Quiñones
Kenny Scharf
Frederic Tuten

The BOMB Salute

BOMB recognizes a groundbreaking curator whose commitment has expanded the canon of modern and contemporary art history by telling a more inclusive story and addressing historical gaps in order to enrich our knowledge of global art, and, ultimately, to write the next chapter in art history.

Salute: Ugochukwu-Smooth C. Nzewi, Steven & Lisa Tananbaum Curator, Department of Painting and Sculpture, The Museum of Modern Art

Saluter: Meleko Mokgosi

Auction powered by

September 18 – October 5


Cecily Brown, A Room of One's Own, 2020, Gouache & watercolor on paper, 14.125 × 2020 inches. Available for auction.

Featuring: Marina Abramovic, Amani Al-Thuwaini, Charles Atlas, Rina Banerjee, Sadie Barnette, Katherine Bernhardt, Lucas Blalock, Dianne Blell, Jeff Bliumis, Cecily Brown, Deborah Buck, Sean Capone, Mike Cloud, Jennifer Coates, Bob Colacello, Nicole Eisenman, Elektra KB, Natalie Frank, James Benjamin Franklin, Joe Fyfe, Chitra Ganesh, Jerrell Gibbs, Harry Gould Harvey IV, Dan Graham, Janice Guy, Heidi Hahn, Andrea Hasler, Hugh Hayden, Janet Olivia Henry, Jonathan Herrera Soto, David Humphrey, Ben Jones, Arghavan Khosravi, James N. Kienitz Wilkins, Richard Landry, Thomas Lawson, Eric N. Mack, Sangram Majumdar, Dindga McCannon, Sana Musasama, Wura-Natasha Ogunji, Bruce Pearson, Seth Price, Ronny Quevedo, Lee Quiñones, Cordy Ryman, Kenny Scharf, Jenny Polak & Dread Scott, Jean Shin, Miryana Todorova, Anne Vieux, Charline von Heyl, Carrie Mae Weems, and Marjorie Welish

A portion of the funds raised will go towards supporting the Trans Women of Color Collective. Trans Women of Color Collective is a nonprofit organization committed to uplifting the narratives, lived experiences, and leadership of trans and gender non-conforming people of color.


Production Empire Entertainment

Design Everything Studio

Honoree Award by Joan Jonas

Art Handling, Transport, and Care Sponsored by

Selected Frames Chelsea Frames, Downing Frames, Minagawa Art Lines