TODO: check for slideshows before loading this else the AMP validator w BOMB's Biennial Fiction Contest 2017 by
BOMB's Biennial Fiction Contest 2017 by

Our fiction contest returns. We are pleased to announce guest judge Paul La Farge, author of The Night Ocean. His recently published novel has received near universal praise; Gary Shteyngart calls it "the best novel of the year, almost any year."

Previous Fiction Contest winners include Jen GeorgeMichael BaptistKaren Walker Thompson, and Sean Madigan Hoen. This year's winner will receive a $1,000 prize and publication in the fall issue of BOMB Magazine’s literary supplement, First Proof. All submissions will be read anonymously.

Submission Guidelines

Email with any questions.

The winner will be announced on July 31, 2017.


About Paul La Farge
Paul La Farge is the author of the novels The Artist of the Missing (1999), Haussmann, or the Distinction (2001), and Luminous Airplanes (2011), as well as The Facts of Winter (2005), a book of imaginary dreams. His stories and essays have appeared in The New Yorker, Harper’sThe BelieverMcSweeney’sNautilus, Conjunctions and elsewhere. He has won the Bard Fiction Prize, two California Book Awards, and the Bay Area Book Critics’ Award for fiction. In 2013-14 he was a fellow at the Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center for Scholars and Writers at the New York Public Library. He has received fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Guggenheim Foundation, and the New York Foundation for the Arts.